Three Hoosiers recognized preseason and placed on award watch lists

The 2023-24 Indiana Hoosiers have 3 players that have obtained Watch-List status for national awards, but what does this mean? Mackenzie Holmes, Sara Scalia, and Yarden Garzon have each been named to a list for one of the 5 major season-long awards offered in college basketball. They are one of 20 in their particular category that are being recognized for their achievements to date, and are in the running to be honored as the best in the nation at their position.

The 5 awards are: Nancy Lieberman Award (Point Guard), Ann Meyers Drysdale Award (Shooting Guard), Cheryl Miller Award (Small Forward), and the Katrina McClain Award (Power Forward), and the Lisa Leslie Award (Center).

Mackenzie Holmes is on the Lisa Leslie Award Watchlist, as she returns for a 5th season this year after demonstrating amazing offensive accomplishments in 2022-23. Last season she was 6th in the nation, averaging 22.3 ppg and 3rd in the nation hitting 68% of her field goals. She complimented those leading stats with 7.3 rebounds and 1.2 assists per game.

IUWBB Guards Sara Scalia (14) and Yarden Garzon (12) play against Maryland on 01/12/23 (Photo by Jeremy Hogan)

Scalia, who is on the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award Watchlist, returns for her final season with the Hoosiers, after playing in all 32 games in 2022-23 where she also made 14 starts. The Stillwater, Minn. native averaged 9.5 points, 3.0 rebounds and 1.6 assists per games where she was third on the team with 53 triples last season. She was named to the All-Big Ten honorable mention squad a year ago and is a four-time All-Big Ten selection in her career.

Sophomore Guard Yarden Garzon has been named to the 2024 Cheryl Miller Award Watchlist. The Ra’anana, Israel native averaged 11.1 points, 5.3 rebounds, 3.0 assist and shot 45.8% from the 3-point line in her rookie campaign, earning her All-Big Ten Second Team and All-Big Ten Freshman Team honors. She led the Big Ten form the 3-point line in 3-point field goal percentage while setting and IU record for 3-pointers made (70) in a freshman season and fourth in a single season.

The Preseason nominations are made in late October, introducing 20 players in each of the starting 5 positions. In late January, the watch list of 20 players will be narrowed to 10, and then in late February, to just five. In March, the five finalists will be presented to Leslie and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee, where a winner will be selected.


The winners of the 2024 Awards will be presented on a to be determined date.


Preview: IUWBB exhibition game against Northwood