Local Sports News: May 29, 2024

Four Indiana Softball Hoosiers Named to CSC’s Academic All-District Team
Indiana Softball’s Aaliyah Andrews, Cora Bassett, Brooke Benson and Avery Parker earned Academic All-District Team honors from the College Sports Communicators on Tuesday afternoon. The distinction recognizes top student-athletes for excellence in the classroom and on the field. Honorees for the district awards advance to the CSC Academic All-America ballot. Those selected for the first, second and third team Academic All-America will be announced on Tuesday, June 18. Andrews, Bassett and Benson each recently finished their senior seasons while Parker just wrapped up her sophomore campaign. The group each played a key role in leading Indiana to a second consecutive 40-plus win season, Big Ten Tournament Final appearance and NCAA Tournament bid in 2024.

Indiana University Men’s Golfers Noah Gillard and Drew Salyers selected PING All-Region Honorees
Indiana sixth-year senior Noah Gillard and senior Drew Salyers were named NCAA Division I PING All-Midwest honorees, the Golf Coaches Association of America announced. Salyers played in the top spot of the Hoosier lineup in all 13 events with a team-low stroke average of 71.76, the fifth-lowest mark in program history, across 38 rounds. He played 21 rounds at or below par and signed for eight rounds in the 60s. He earned eight top-20, six-top-10, and three top-5 results. Gillard locked down the second spot in head coach Mike Mayer’s lineup in all 13 tournaments. He posted a stroke average of 71.92, the seventh lowest in program in Hoosier history. The Center Grove graduate completed 21 rounds at or under par to include six in under 70. He ended the season with eight top-20, four top-10, and three top-5 finishes.
Established in 1958, the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA) is the professional organization of men’s collegiate golf coaches. The GCAA’s mission is to support its member coaches from six divisions, including the NCAA, NAIA and NJCAA, by creating educational opportunities, providing resources, and promoting its members with the purpose of enhancing their overall performance as coaches, mentors, and teachers. The GCAA also recognizes the excellence and achievements of its members and their student-athletes in academic, athletic and civic endeavors.
Division I PING All-Midwest Team
Barend Botha, Toledo
Jackson Buchanan, Illinois
Cooper Claycomb, Louisville
Timmy Crawford, Illinois
Noah Gillard, Indiana
Max Green, West Virginia
Max Herendeen, Illinois
Cameron Huss, Wisconsin
Palmer Jackson, Notre Dame
Max Kennedy, Louisville
Ashton McCulloch, Michigan State
Jacob Modleski, Notre Dame
Maxwell Moldovan, Ohio State
Sebastian Moss, Louisville
Drew Salyers, Indiana
Herman Sekne, Purdue
Neal Shipley, Ohio State
Nels Surtani, Purdue
Daniel Svärd, Northwestern
Hunter Thomson, Michigan
Ethan Tseng, Northwestern
Caleb VanArragon, Valparaiso
Ryan Voois, Illinois
Adam Wallin, Ohio State
Ben Warian, Minnesota

Indiana University Men’s Tennis adds Virginia Tech Transfer Ben Pomerantes
Indiana Men’s Tennis Head Coach Jeremy Wurtzman has announced the singing of Ben Pomeranets to the team. Pomeranets, a transfer from Virginia Tech, will enter his sophomore year when he arrives in Bloomington this fall. The Cleveland, Ohio native had a successful freshman season for the Hokies, recording an 8-5 record this spring playing between the No. 4-6 singles position. He earned four conference victories against Duke, Louisville, Florida State and Miami. For the week of February 6, he earned ACC Freshman of the Week. In that week, he went 3-0 in his matches, winning each match in straight sets while outscoring his opponents, 36-9. He was the first Virginia Tech freshman in program history to earn the honor.

In his prep career, he was a standout at Orange High School where he won two Ohio State Championships in singles (2022, 2023). In 2021, his team won the OHSAA DII State Championship. In 2022, he was named Cleveland Player of the Year and went undefeated in singles play in 2023. He was ranked as a four-star recruit and the No. 51 overall player in the class of 2023 by Tennis Recruiting Network.

The Indiana Pacers lose to the Boston Celtics in Game 4 of the Eastern Conference Finals ending their season
The Boston Celtics rallied from a nine-point fourth quarter deficit to beat the Indiana Pacers 105-102 and sweep the Eastern Conference Finals 4-0. Derrick White hit the game-winning three-pointer with 45 seconds left to play. Pascal Siakam put the Pacers up 102-98 with 3:33 left in the game. They wouldn’t score again, and the Celtics closed the game out on a 7-0 run. Jaylen Brown led Boston with 29 points, while Jayson Tatum added 26. Andrew Nembhard paced Indiana with 24 points. Boston raced out to an eight-point lead on a Jrue Holiday three-pointer, but Indiana came right back, trailing by only one point after one quarter after a T.J. McConnell buzzer-beater. The Pacers took the lead in the second quarter on a Nembhard three. They were down three late in the half when they beat the buzzer again on a Nembhard jumper. The Celtics led 58-57 at halftime. The game stayed tight throughout the third with Indiana leading by three entering the final quarter. Pacers’ All-Star guard Tyrese Haliburton missed his second straight game with left hamstring soreness.

Taylor University Women’s Track takes home 16 NAIA Scholar-Athlete Honors
Taylor’s women’s track and field received 16 NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors, as announced by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics on Tuesday, May 21. An extensive list of recipients included Abby Mays, Ahna Neideck, Anna Runion, Ashley Hall, Audrey Brinkruff, Elayna Kitt, Emersyn Funk, Grace Anderson, Kaitlin Burden, Kiana Siefert, Lynae Ackley, Madelyn Borchelt, Noel VanderWall, Olivia Jeanette, Rebekah Firestone, and Zoe Dinius. In order to be eligible for NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition, a student-athlete must maintain a cumulative minimum grade-point average of 3.50 on a 4.0 scale, while having attended one full year at their current institution.

Taylor University Softball secures Seven Scholar-Athlete Awards
The Taylor University softball program recently picked up seven NAIA Scholar-Athlete honors, as announced by the National Association of Intercollegiate Athletics. Livie Lehmann, Delaynee McCreary, Mackenzie Noah, Aleyah Rastetter, Brooke Sanchez, Maddie Schultz, and Jersey Tannehill all represented Taylor on the list of 1,250 NAIA student-athletes. In order to be eligible for NAIA Scholar-Athlete recognition, a student-athlete must maintain a cumulative minimum grade-point average of 3.50 on a 4.0 scale, while having attended one full year at their current institution.